beta members_edited.jpg


Beta Chapter, the first chapter established under the laws of incorporation was chartered Wednesday, October 8, 1913 on the campus of University of Chicago at Ida Noyes Hall in Chicago, Illinois. Founder Beulah Elizabeth Burke, the sorority’s First National Organizer, wanted to ensure the perpetuity of the sorority. As the second oldest chapter organized in Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, Beta Chapter spans across four other Universities, which includes Loyola University Chicago, University of Illinois at Chicago, Columbia College Chicago, and Roosevelt University. The five charter members 

 Geraldyne Hodges (Major), Virginia Gaines (Thomas), Beatrice Lee, Bertha Moseley (Lewis), and Eva Overton (Lewis) worked diligently to meet the challenges and expectations to maintain high scholastic and ethical standards. While preserving an interest in college life, they encouraged other women to join them in striving toward the great objectives of our founders.Through the years, Beta Chapter has earned many awards for service and scholastic achievement. Beta Chapter was the recipient of Central Region’s First Undergraduate Achievement Cup in 1956. Beta Chapter was also the recipient of the 2011 Johnetta Randolph Haley Undergraduate Attendance Award and the 2011 Maenell Newsome Undergraduate Scrapbook Award of the 77th Central Regional Conference.

Many members initiated in Beta Chapter went on to serve the Sorority as National & International officers and on National & International committees. Loraine Richardson Greene, Nan Arringtion, and Loann Honesty (King), who is present with us today, are a few Beta Sorors that have held national officers.As Beta Chapter embarks on its 108th year anniversary, the chapter to the Chicago and international community continues to hold the ideals for which Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated stands.